Search
Generic filters
Exact matches only

US Election results map: Expected timings by state – Bukipress

0 4 weeks ago

AMERICANS are casting their ballots to decide who, between Donald Trump and Joe Biden, will be their next president.

Results will start coming in on the evening of November 3, 2020.

⚠ Follow our US election 2020 live blog for the latest news & updates

EPA

A person at a voting booth prepares to cast a paper ballot at a polling location in Laurel, Maryland, on November 2, 2020[/caption]

How to track the US election results LIVE with our interactive map

You can track the US elections results live with our interactive map.

EPA

Results will start coming in the evening of November 3. Pictured: A voter in Maryland[/caption]

What time will the results be announced in each state?

To be elected president, a candidate must win at least 270 electoral votes.

Typically, on election night it becomes clear which candidate will meet the threshold.

However, because of the surge in postal voting this year might be slightly different.

These are the times the first votes will start to be reported in each state:

Ohio – 8pm ET, 1am GMT

Florida – 8.30pm ET, 1.30am GMT

North Carolina – 8.30pm-1am ET, 1.30am-6am GMT

Arizona – 10pm ET, 3am GMT

Wisconsin – 3am-6am ET, 8am-11am GMT

Georgia – November 4

Texas – November 4

Minnesota – 12pm Nov 4 ET, 5pm GMT

Nevada – 12pm Nov 4 ET, 5pm GMT

Michigan – November 6

Pennsylvania – November 6

Iowa – Not known

New Hampshire – Not known

AFP or licensors

Donald Trump on the campaign trail[/caption]

Getty Images – Getty

Biden speaks to supporters[/caption]

Where are the swing states?

Swing states are key for either party to win the presidential election.

There are several swing states, that over recent elections have gone both ways.

Of the six swing states, Florida, North Carolina and Arizona are expected to count most of their votes on election night or soon afterwards.

Polls are open in Florida from 7am to 7pm, in North Carolina from 6.30am to 7.30pm, and in Arizona from 6pm to 7pm.

EPA

Voters in Maryland[/caption]

However the closer the margin is, the longer it will take to settle who won each state.

Pennsylvania, Wisconsin and Michigan are in a different position.

Due to the lack of updates on the policies of mailed ballots these states could take days to finish their counts.


Polls are open in all three states from 7am to 8pm.

Votes filled in by citizens are counted as popular votes and do not determine the president’s win. 

Instead, the electoral college determines who the winner of the election is. 

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar